"...undoubtedly one of the greatest violists of our time"

- The Jerusalem Post of Yuri Gandelsman



Varner Recital Hall
Oakland University
371 Varner Drive, Rochester


Haydn: String Quartet in F major, Op. 74, No. 2
Bartok: String Quartet No. 6
Brahms: String Quintet No. 2 in G major, Op. 111




Praised by the Baltimore Sun for combining “smoothly meshed technique with a sense of spontaneity and discovery,” the Aeolus Quartet is committed to presenting time-seasoned masterworks and new cutting-edge works to widely diverse audiences with equal freshness, dedication, and fervor. Violinists Nicholas Tavani and Rachel Shapiro, violist Gregory Luce, and cellist Alan Richardson formed the Aeolus Quartet in 2008 at the Cleveland Institute of Music. Since its inception, the all-American quartet has been awarded prizes at nearly every major competition in the United States and performed across the globe with showings “worthy of a major-league quartet” (Scott Cantrell, Dallas Morning News). 

Yuri Gandelsman was born in Russia and studied in Moscow with professors Heinrich Talalyan and Valentin Berlinsky. After winning the National Viola Competition in 1980 and joining the Moscow Virtuosi Chamber Orchestra as principal violist and soloist, he became one of the USSR’s leading musicians. His collaborations included concerts with such renowned musicians as Sviatoslav Richter, Yevgeni Kissin, Vladimir Spivakov and the Borodin and Shostakovich quartets. In 1990, Gandelsman became the principal violist with the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra. During the next 10 years, he frequently performed as a soloist with the IPO under Maestro Zubin Mehta in Israel, the United States, Luxembourg, Portugal and Spain. Gandelsman has performed solo recitals in many parts of the world, including Moscow, St. Petersburg, Paris, Frankfurt, Tokyo, Warsaw, Istanbul, Budapest and Florence. He has made numerous solo recordings for “Melodya,” “Sony Classical,” “Lyrinx,” “ASV” and “Naxos” labels.