Back to All Events

Alisa Weilerstein & Inon Barnatan

  • Seligman Performing Arts Center 22305 West 13 Mile Road Beverly Hills, MI, 48025 United States (map)
Weilerstein & Barnatan.png

     Cello Sonata No. 1 in F Major, Op. 5 No. 1
     Cello Sonata No. 2 in G minor, Op. 5 No. 2
     Cello Sonata No. 3 in A major, Op. 69
     Cello Sonata No. 4 in C major, Op. 102, No. 1
     Cello Sonata No. 5 in D major, Op. 102, No. 2

PRE-CONCERT TALK @7:00 PM: Steve Wogaman and Willa Walker discuss highlights of the 2020-2021 season.

The eagerly anticipated return of pianist Inon Barnaton and CMSD debut of cellist Alisa Weilerstein brings two of the world’s most celebrated young artists – and frequent collaborators – to the Chamber Music Society’s stage.  Their performance of all five of Beethoven’s cello sonatas provides a remarkable snapshot of each of the master’s main three style periods: early, middle and late. 

Inon Barnatan is widely acclaimed as a true poet of the keyboard: refined, searching, and unfailingly communicative.  His sincerity and expressiveness bring audiences into each phrase as if hearing them for the first time, rivaling his technical abilities and sensitive phrasing.  Cellist Alisa Weilerstein’s passion, commitment and breathtaking technique combined with undeniable musicianship make her one of today’s most exciting artists.  Together, these two artists offer an alluring and passionate musical evening not to be missed.

Their recent collaborative concerts have received the highest accolades, including this one from the San Francisco Classical Voice, citing their “extraordinary communication:” “Weilerstein and Barnatan played the entire program as if they were a single telepathic unit. She could be facing the audience and he not watching her, yet all entrances or sudden chords were precisely played together at the same instant.”  

Earlier Event: February 1
Danish String Quartet
Later Event: April 18
Yefim Bronfman